Friday, 12 April 2013

Australia news Gannon's bowling action illegal

Cameron Gannon, the Queensland seamer, has been barred from bowling in domestic matches after his action was found to be illegal by Cricket Australia.Biomechanical analysis of Gannon's action, undertaken after he was reported by the umpires in the Sheffield Shield final against Tasmania in Hobart last month, showed that he bowled with an elbow extension beyond the allowable 15-degree level."Analysis conducted at the Australian Institute of Sport in Canberra found that Gannon bowls with an illegal action for all deliveries, with an average elbow extension of 24 degrees," a CA statement said. "The allowable elbow extension is 15 degrees.As such, Gannon is now suspended from bowling in interstate cricket until he passes another analysis of his action in accordance with the provisions set out in the Cricket Australia Doubtful Bowling procedures."This suspension is effective immediately and Gannon is not able to request a fresh analysis of his action until at least 90 days from today's date."Gannon was reported four times across the summer, including twice in the final. A minimum of three reports within the same season are required for a bowler to be subjected to testing.

No comments:

Post a Comment